Football: Clive Walford on 2013 Mackey Award Watch List

The watch list for the 2013 John Mackey Award, given to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, was released on Tuesday.  Miami Hurricanes’ TE Clive Walford was among those named.

Nov 1, 2012; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Hurricanes tight end Clive Walford (46) runs against Virginia Tech Hokies at Sun Life Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The full 2013 Mackey Award watch list is as follows:


  • Rory Anderson, South Carolina
  • Alex Bayer, Bowling Green
  • Ted Bolser, Indiana
  • Kyle Carter, Penn State
  • Gerald Christian, Louisville
  • Chris Coyle, Arizona State
  • Nexon Dorvilus, Florida Atlantic
  • Eric Ebron, North Carolina
  • Zane Fakes, Ball State
  • C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa
  • Kaneakua Friel, BYU
  • Devin Funchess, Michigan
  • Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
  • Xavier Grimble, USC
  • Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State
  • Gabe Holmes, Purdue
  • Gator Hoskins, Marshall
  • Marcel Jensen, Fresno State
  • Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
  • Luke Kaumatule, Stanford
  • Ben Koyack, Notre Dame
  • Gabe Linehan, Boise State
  • Colt Lyerla, Oregon
  • Arthur Lynch, Georgia
  • Jake McGee, Virginia
  • Jake Murphy, Utah
  • Jordan Najvar, Baylor
  • Troy Niklas, Notre Dame
  • Nick O’Leary, Florida State
  • Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
  • Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
  • Randall Telfer, USC
  • C.J. Uzomah, Auburn
  • Brian Vogler, Alabama
  • Beckett Wales, Syracuse
  • Clive Walford, Miami
  • Asa Watson, NC State
Former Hurricanes’ TE Kellen Winslow IIwon the Mackey Award in 2003.  Winslow caught 60 passes for 605 yards and one touchdown.  
  • 2012 winner: Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
  • 2013 announcement: Dec. 12 (The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show, ESPNU)


Topics: Clive Walford, Football, Miami Hurricanes

Want more from Canes Warning?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.