Football: Duke Johnson, Stephen Morris Members of 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List

Each year the Maxwell Football Club recognizes the college football player of the year.  Recently released was the 2013 watch list which featured Miami Hurricanes’ RB Duke Johnson and QB Stephen Morris.

Nov 1, 2012; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Hurricanes running back Duke Johnson (8) stiff-arms Virginia Tech Hokies linebacker Jack Tyler (58) during the fourth quarter at Sun Life Stadium. Miami won 30-12. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

USA Today ranked the top 76 based on likelihood of winning the award.  Below are the top 15.

  • 1. QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
  • 2. DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
  • 3. QB AJ McCarron, Alabama
  • 4. QB Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
  • 5. QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • 6. WR Marquise Lee, USC
  • 7. RB TJ Yeldon, Alabama
  • 8. QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • 9. QB Tajh Boyd, Clemson
  • 10. RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
  • 11. RB De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
  • 12. QB Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
  • 13. QB Aaron Murray, Georgia
  • 14. QB Devin Gardner, Michigan
  • 15. QB Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
  • 32. RB Duke Johnson, Miami (Fla.)
  • 50. QB Stephen Morris, Miami (Fla.)

For those wondering, the last Miami Hurricane to win the Maxwell award was QB Ken Dorsey in 2001.  Dorsey finished 3rd that year in the Heisman voting and 5th in 2002.

To view the complete Maxwell Award watch list, click here.

Topics: 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List, Duke Johnson, Football, Miami Hurricanes, Stephen Morris

Want more from Canes Warning?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.