Football: Shane McDermott Named to 2013 Rimington Trophy Watch List

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2013 Fall Watch List.  Hurricanes’ C Shane McDermott was among those named.

Sep 22, 2012; Atlanta, GA, USA; Miami Hurricanes offensive lineman Shane McDermott (62) in action against the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets at Bobby Dodd Stadium. Miami won 42-36 in overtime. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Liles-USA TODAY Sports

Each year, the Rimington Trophy is presented to the “premier centers” in each of the following divisions: FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA.

Below is the 2013 Rimington Trophy Watch List:

  • David Andrews, Georgia
  • Russell Bodine, North Carolina
  • Evan Boehm, Missouri
  • Jake Brendel, UCLA
  • Betim Bujari, Rutgers
  • Ben Clarke, Hawaii
  • Sean Conway, Western Kentucky
  • Dillon Day, Mississippi State
  • Reese Dismukes, Auburn
  • Dominic Espinosa, Texas
  • Dillon Farrell, New Mexico
  • Jay Finch, Georgia Tech
  • B.J. Finney, Kansas State
  • Matt Galas, Nevada
  • Bryce Giddens, Arkansas State
  • Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
  • Gus Handler, Colorado
  • Jonotthan Harrison, Florida
  • Andre Huval, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
  • Travis Jackson, Michigan State
  • David Kekuewa, Bowling Green
  • Ryan Kelly, Alabama
  • Zac Kerin, Toledo
  • Kody Koebensky, Arizona State
  • Tyler Larsen, Utah State
  • Taylor Lasecki, SMU
  • Corey Linsley, Ohio State
  • Macky MacPherson, Syracuse
  • Mike Marboe, Idaho
  • Shane McDermot, Miami (Fla.)
  • Cole Pensick, Nebraska
  • Ryan Powis, Army
  • Bryce Redman, Houston
  • Austin Reiter, USF
  • Weston Richburg, Colorado State
  • Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State
  • James Stone, Tennessee
  • Bryan Stork, Florida State
  • Travis Swanson, Arkansas
  • Evan Swindall, Mississippi
  • Valerian Ume-Ezeoke, New Mexico State
  • Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern
  • Robert Waterman, UNLV

Hurricanes’ C Brett Romberg won the Rimington Award in 2002.  Romberg never gave up a quarterback sack throughout his entire college career.  That year, the talented center beat out finalists Jeff Faine (Notre Dame), Bruce Nelson (Iowa), Al Johnson (Wisconsin) and Dan Koppen (Boston College).

2012 Rimington Trophy winner: Barrett Jones, Alabama


Topics: 2013 Rimington Trophy Watch List, Football, Miami Hurricanes, Shane Mcdermott

Want more from Canes Warning?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.