Dec 1, 2012; East Hartford, CT, USA; Cincinnati Bearcats punter Pat O

Football: Miami P O'Donnell Named to 2013 Ray Guy Award Watch List

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

On Wednesday, the 2013 watch list for the Ray Guy Award was announced, the award given to the best punter in the country.  Miami Hurricanes’ P Pat O’Donnell finds himself amongst the 25 eligible candidates.

The award, which is presented by the Augusta Sports Council, is named after former Southern Mississippi All-American Ray Guy.  Those eligible are critiqued on net average, percentage of punts inside the 20-yard line, as well as the percentage of punts that are not returned.

Below is a list of the 25 eligible punters:

  • Michael Bowlin, Washington State
  • Cayle Chapman-Brown, New Mexico State
  • Kyle Christy, Florida
  • Steven Clark, Auburn
  • Justin Duvernois,Illinois
  • Landon Foster, Kentucky
  • Thomas Hibbard,North Carolina
  • Tom Hornsey, Memphis
  • Colter Johnson, Massachusetts
  • Keith Kostol, Oregon State
  • Richie Leone, Houston
  • Mike Loftus, SMU
  • Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
  • Will Monday, Duke
  • Hunter Mullins, UAB
  • Pat O’Donnell, Miami
  • Darragh O’Neill,Colorado
  • Ethan Perry, TCU
  • Mike Sadler, Michigan State
  • Ben Skaer, New Mexico
  • Trent Tignor, East Carolina
  • Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State
  • Harrison Waid, San Jose State
  • Cody Webster, Purdue
  • Tyler Williams, Marshall

O’Donnell, a native of Lake Worth Florida, is one of the latest additions to the Hurricanes’ football team having spent the past three years at Cincinnati.  In 2012, O’Donnell was a second team All-Big East selection and averaged 41.8 yards per punt.

2012 winner: Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

2013 presentation: Dec. 12, Home Depot College Football Awards show

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Football Miami Hurricanes Pat O'donnell

comments powered by Disqus