Nov 10, 2012; Charlottesville, VA, USA; Miami Hurricanes wide receiver Allen Hurns (1) celebrates his touchdown with offensive linesman Brandon Linder (65) during the first quarter against the Virginia Cavaliers at Scott Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Peter Casey-USA TODAY Sports

Football: Brandon Linder Named to 2013 Outland Trophy Watch List

On Thursday, the FWAA released the 2013 watch list for the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman.  Miami Hurricanes’ OG Brandon Linder finds himself amongst the 75 eligible candidates.

The award is named after Dr. John H. Outland, an All-American tackle at the University of Pennsylvania in 1897.

On Nov. 25, the FWAA will announce the finalists and a winner will be chosen on Dec. 12 at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

Below is the 2013 watch list:

  • Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DT
  • Austen Bujnoch, Cincinnati, G
  • Chris Burnette, Georgia, G
  • A.J. Cann, South Carolina, G
  • Ryan Carrethers, Arkansas State, DT
  • Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech, OT
  • Deandre Coleman, California, DT
  • La’el Collins, LSU, OT
  • Kevin Danser, Stanford, G
  • Anthony Dima, Massachusetts, OT
  • Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh, DT
  • Dominique Easley, Florida, DT
  • Cameron Erving, Florida State, OT
  • BJ Finney, Kansas State, C
  • Cameron Fleming, Stanford, OT
  • Kevin Graf , USC, OT
  • Hroniss Grasu, Oregon, C
  • Ryan Groy, Wisconsin, OT
  • Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota, DT
  • Trey Hopkins, Texas, G
  • Chucky Hunter, TCU, DT
  • James Hurst, North Carolina, OT
  • Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech, DT
  • Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma, C
  • Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, G
  • Tré Jackson , Florida State, G
  • Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee, OT
  • Timmy Jernigan, Florida State, DT
  • Anthony Johnson, LSU, DT
  • Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers, OT
  • Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt, OT
  • Tyler Johnstone, Oregon, OT
  • DaQuan Jones, Penn State, DT
  • Zac Kerin, Toledo, C
  • Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama, OT
  • Tyler Larsen, Utah State, C
  • Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati, OT
  • Charles Leno, Boise State, OT
  • Taylor Lewan, Michigan, OT
  • Brandon Linder, Miami, G
  • Spencer Long, Nebraska, G
  • Antwan Lowery, Rutgers, G
  • Cornelius Lucas, Kansas State, OT
  • Eathyn Manumaleuna, BYU, DT
  • Zack Martin, Notre Dame, OT
  • John Martinez, USC, G
  • Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, OT
  • Daniel McCullers, Tennessee, DT
  • Jack Mewhort, Ohio State, OT
  • Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech, C
  • Morgan Moses, Virginia, OT
  • Louis Nix III, Notre Dame, DT
  • Roosevelt Nix, Kent State, DT
  • Andrew Norwell, Ohio State, G
  • Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina, DT
  • Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, OT
  • Cyril Richardson, Baylor, G
  • Weston Richburg, Colorado State, C
  • Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State, C
  • Will Simmons, East Carolina, G
  • Jeremiah Sirles, Nebraska, OT
  • Anthony Steen, Alabama, G
  • Bryan Stork, Florida State, C
  • Xavier Su’a-Filo, UCLA, G
  • Will Sutton, Arizona State, DT
  • Travis Swanson, Arkansas, C
  • Brandon Thomas, Clemson, OT
  • Laken Tomlinson, Duke, G
  • John Urschel, Penn State, G
  • Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern, C
  • Mason Walters, Texas, G
  • Austin Wentworth, Fresno State, OT
  • Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest, DT
  • Leonard Williams, USC, DT
  • David Yankey, Stanford, G
Former Hurricanes’ OL Russell Maryland was awarded the Outland Trophy in 1990.  Maryland spent ten seasons in the NFL and was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys as the first overall pick in the 1991 draft.  He was the first Miami Hurricane player to receive the Outland Trophy.
In 2001, Bryant McKinne was presented with the Outland Trophy.  Twice recognized as an All-Amerian while at Miami, McKinnie also finished 8th in the 2001 Heisman voting.
2012 winner: Luke Joeckel, OT, Texas A&M




Next Hurricanes Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov12:30North Carolina Tar HeelsBuy Tickets

Tags: Brandon Linder Football Miami Hurricanes

comments powered by Disqus