Football: Stephen Morris Makes 2013 O’Brien Award Watch List

On Wednesday the Davey O’Brien Foundation released the 2013 watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, honoring the nation’s top quarterback.  Hurricanes’ QB Stephen Morris was among the 34 listed.

Nov 1, 2012; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Hurricanes quarterback Stephen Morris (17) drops back to pass against the Virginia Tech Hokies at Sun Life Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

2013 watch list:

  • David Ash, Texas
  • Blake Bortles, UCF
  • Tajh Boyd, Clemson
  • Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
  • Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Kolton Browning, Louisiana-Monroe
  • Derek Carr, Fresno State
  • Rakeem Cato, Marshall
  • Cody Fajardo, Nevada
  • David Fales, San Jose State
  • James Franklin, Missouri
  • Devin Gardner, Michigan
  • Kevin Hogan, Stanford
  • Brett Hundley, UCLA
  • Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
  • Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
  • AJ McCarron, Alabama
  • Braxton Miller, Ohio State
  • Stephen Morris, Miami
  • Aaron Murray, Georgia
  • Casey Pachall, TCU
  • Keith Price, Washington
  • Bryn Renner, North Carolina
  • Keenan Reynolds, Navy
  • Tyler Russell, Mississippi State
  • Connor Shaw, South Carolina
  • Tyler Tettleton, Ohio
  • Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
  • Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
  • Keith Wenning, Ball State

Conference breakdown:

  • SEC (7)
  • PAC-12 (5)
  • ACC (4)
  • Mountain West (4)
  • Big Ten (3)
  • MAC (3)
  • American (2)
  • Big 12 (2)
  • Sun Belt (2)
  • Independent (1)
  • C-USA (1)

The last Miami Hurricane to win the Davey O’Brien award was Gino Toretta in 1992.  Toretta threw for 3,060 yards and 19 touchdowns in his final season at UM, winning both the Heisman Trophy, as well as the O’Brien Award.

Prior to Toretta, Hurricanes’ great Vinny Testaverde won the O’Brien Award in 1986, along with the Walter Camp Award, the Maxwell Award and the Heisman Trophy.  In his final season at UM Testaverde threw for 2,557 yards and 26 touchdowns.  He was the No. 1 pick in the 1987 NFL Draft and went on to play 21 seasons in the NFL.

2012 Davey O’Brien recipient: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Topics: 2013 Davey O'Brien Watch List, Football, Miami Hurricanes, Stephen Morris

Want more from Canes Warning?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

TEAMFeed More Hurricanes news from the Fansided Network

Hot on the Web From