Sept 29, 2012; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Hurricanes running back Duke Johnson (8) is tackled by North Carolina State Wolfpack linebacker Rodman Noel (5) during the second half at Sun Life Stadium. Miami won 44-37. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Football: Hurricanes' RB Duke Johnson Makes 2013 Walter Camp Award Watch List

On Friday the 2013 Walter Camp Award watch list was released, the award given to the best player in college football.  Miami Hurricanes’ RB Duke Johnson was among the 50 players that were named.

The Walter Camp, Player of the Year Award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding player who has exemplified the qualities of self-discipline, unselfish team play, desire to excel, mature judgement and respect for leadership.

According to the Walter Camp Award website,, “He [the recipient] must be a dedicated competitor who has made effective use of his athletic talent to enhance the great American game of college football.  His standout performance on the playing field must be accompanied by an equally strong effort to contribute to the betterment of the life of all of his fellow human beings.”

Complete 2013 Walter Camp Award watch list:

  • Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska
  • Antonio Andrews, RB, Western Kentucky
  • Dri Archer, RB, Kent State
  • Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson
  • Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville
  • Kolton Browning, QB, Louisiana Monroe
  • Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
  • Ka’Deem Carey, RB, Arizona
  • Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State
  • Rakeem Cato, QB, Marshall
  • Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina
  • Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama
  • David Fluellen, RB, Toledo
  • Phillip Gaines, DB, Rice
  • Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia
  • John Hubert, RB, Kansas State
  • Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas
  • Duke Johnson, RB, Miami Fla. (2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American)
  • Chuckie Keeton, QB, Utah State
  • Marqise Lee, WR, USC
  • Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan
  • Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois
  • Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M
  • Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon
  • Jake Matthews, OT, Texas A&M
  • Jordan Matthews, WR, Vanderbilt
  • Venric Mark, RB, Northwestern
  • Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska
  • AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama
  • Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State
  • C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama
  • Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia
  • Louis Nix III, DE, Notre Dame
  • Casey Pachall, QB, TCU
  • Keith Price, QB, Washington
  • Silas Redd, RB, USC
  • Bradley Roby, DB, Ohio State
  • Tyler Russell, QB, Mississippi State
  • Bishop Sankey, RB, Washington
  • Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor
  • Yawin Smallwood, LB, Connecticut
  • Will Sutton, DT, Arizona State
  • Tyler Tettleton, QB, Ohio
  • De’Anthony Thomas, RB, Oregon
  • Logan Thomas, QB, Virginia Tech
  • Stephon Tuitt, DE, Notre Dame
  • Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU
  • Jason Verrett, DB, TCU
  • Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson
  • T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama

The award recipients (Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Alumni Award, Man of the Year, Distinguished American, Connecticut Player of the Year and Joseph W. Kelly Award) will be honored at the National Awards Dinner on Jan. 12, 2013.

2012 Award winners:

  • Player of the Year: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
  • Coach of the Year: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  • Alumni Award: Derrick Brooks, Florida State University
  • Man of the Year: Herm Edwards, San Diego State
  • Distinguished American: Tom Osborne, Hastings/U. of Nebraska
  • Connecticut Player of the Year: Bjoern Werner, Florida State University
  • Joseph W. Kelly Award: Daniel Hand High School, Madison, CT

Next Hurricanes Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 2323 Oct7:30at Virginia Tech HokiesBuy Tickets

Tags: 2013 Walter Camp Award Watch List Duke Johnson Football Miami Hurricanes

comments powered by Disqus