The Miami Hurricanes All-Time Team

Next2 of 21Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Dec 13, 2014; New York, NY, USA; (left to right) Master of ceremonies and former University of Miami Heisman winner Gino Torretta moderates as Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver Amari Cooper and Wisconsin Badgers running back Melvin Gordon and Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota answer questions during the pre-announcement Heisman finalists press conference at the New York Marriott Marquis. Mandatory Credit: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports


The Miami Hurricanes were known as “Quarterback U” and had many outstanding QB’s play at the program such as: Jim Kelly, Bernie Kosar, Steve Walsh, Craig Erickson and Ken Dorsey.

Nevertheless, I’m going to make this real easy on myself and simply go with the two Heisman Trophy winners:

Vinny Testaverde

Testaverde has quite a resume.

A College Football Hall of Famer, Testaverde had quite the senior season (1986), winning a Heisman Trophy, Davey O’Brien Award, Maxwell Trophy, and Walter Camp Award. He was also a consensus First-Team All-American and the UPI Player of the Year.

Testaverde never won a National Championship, but he held a 21-1 regular season record.

He also played in the NFL for an unbelievable 21 seasons.

Gino Torretta

Torretta played at Miami from 1989 to 1992 and began his first two season as a back-up to Craig Erickson.

While a starter in 1991 and 1992, Torretta had a record of 23-1 and threw for 6,155 yards and 39 touchdowns.

In Torretta’s senior season, he was a consensus First-Team All-American and won every award imaginable such as a: Heisman Trophy, Davy O’Brien Award, Walter Camp Award, Maxwell Trophy, Chic Harley Award and the Johnny Unitas Award.

He can also say he was a two-time National Champion.

Next2 of 21Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Load Comments