Miami Hurricanes hold 2017 football awards banquet

CHARLOTTE, NC - DECEMBER 02: Chad Thomas /
1 of 3
miami hurricanes
CHARLOTTE, NC – DECEMBER 02: Mami Hurricanes Chad Thomas /

The Miami Hurricanes held their awards banquet Saturday night. The season was their most successful in 15 years. They fell just short of their ultimate goal of an ACC championship and the College Football Playoff.

The Miami Hurricanes awarded every imaginable category. They ranged from each unit’s overall MVP and Comeback Player of the Year to community service and leadership awards.

What was obvious about the awards is that the goal was to award as many players as possible. R.J. McIntosh was awarded the defensive MVP, but Jaquan Johnson received the overall team MVP. Braxton Berrios received the offensive MVP. The offensive MVP can certainly be debated.

Malik Rosier had often been maligned by the fan base. He has performed in the clutch when the outcomes of games were very much in doubt.

Rosier led the Hurricanes on game-winning drives in the last few minutes against Florida State and Syracuse. With two more touchdowns, he will tie the Miami season record for touchdowns accounted for. Vinny Testaverde had 30 in 1986.

Berrios cleaned up at the awards ceremony and banquet. He was awarded eight times in total. In addition to winning the Offensive MVP Award, Berrios was named the Scholar-Athlete of the year, the Leadership award, the Captains Club, and the Visitors Club Award.

Next: Full list of awardees