Miami Hurricanes hold 2017 football awards banquet

CHARLOTTE, NC - DECEMBER 02: Chad Thomas /
2 of 3

Over 30 players were honored on Saturday night. That included some obscure players on the roster. The full list of honorees is below.

"Mariutto Family Scholar-Athlete Award – WR Braxton Berrios Scout Team Player of the Year – OL Zalon’tae Hillery (offense), DL Gerald Willis III (defense), FB Michael Parrott (special teams) Strength Training Athlete of the Year – TE Christopher Herndon IV (offense), LB Shaq Quarterman (defense) Training Room Comeback Player of the Year – WR Lawrence Cager Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award – TE Christopher Herndon IV Community Service Man of the Year Award – DL Demetrius Jackson Offensive Newcomer of the Year – OL Navaughn Donaldson Defensive Newcomer of the Year – DB Trajan Bandy Special Teams Newcomer of the Year – DB Amari Carter Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On – WR Marshall Few (offense), DB Teddy Stavetski (defense), P Jack Spicer (special teams) Kelly UTough Award – RB Travis Homer (offense), DL Kendrick Norton (defense) Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player – WR Darrell Langham (offense), DB Michael Jackson (defense), DB Malek Young (special teams) University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award – OL Tyler Gauthier (offense), DL Trent Harris (defense), RB Travis Homer (special teams) Miami Touchdown Club R. Dale Melching Leadership Award – OL KC McDermott (offense), DB Jaquan Johnson (defense), WR Braxton Berrios (special teams) Christopher Plumer Memorial Award (Leadership, Motivation, Spirit) – DL Chad Thomas Hard Hitter Award – OL KC McDermott (offense), LB Shaq Quarterman (defense) Victors Club – WR Braxton Berrios, OL Tyler Gauthier, OL KC McDermott, DL RJ McIntosh, DL Kendrick Norton, DL Trent Harris, DL Joe Jackson, DL Chad Thomas, LB Shaq Quarterman, DB Jaquan Johnson, RB Travis Homer"