Miami Hurricanes legendary LB Dan Morgan elected to College Football Hall of Fame


The legendary career of former Miami Hurricanes linebacker Dan Morgan was rewarded on Monday when it was announced he was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Dan Morgan, the all-time leader tackler in Miami Hurricanes history was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday. Morgan finished his Miami career with 532 career tackles and holds two of the top seven career seasons in stops. Morgan had the third greatest season in tackles in 1998 with 150.

During the Hurricanes 2000 season which fell just short of a berth in the BCS National Championship Game, Morgan finished with 138 tackles. Morgan was part of one of the most important recruiting classes in Miami Hurricanes history. The 2000 senior class helped bring the U back.

It has been quite a few days for Morgan. The current Director of Player Personnel for the Buffalo Bills celebrated the first playoff victory by that franchise in 25 years. Morgan joins seven Miami Hurricanes alums and three former coaches as members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former players Ted Hendricks, Don Bosseler, Arnold Tucker, Bennie Blades, Gino Torretta, Russell Maryland, Vinny Testaverde and Ed Reed and former coaches Dennis Erickson, Andy Gustafson, Jack Harding and Jimmy Johnson are enshrined in the second-highest Hall of Fame in Football.

Nine former Hurricanes are enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame including Hendricks and Reed plus Johnson. Morgan appeared to be on his way to a Pro Football Hall of Fame career. Injuries ended Morgan’s career after seven seasons in 2007. Morgan was named All-Rookie in 2001 and All-Pro in 2004.

Next. Mike Harley will make run at Miami receiving records. dark

Morgan dominated the defensive awards as a senior in 2000. The most decorated linebacker in Miami history was named a unanimous All-American, first-team All-Big East and their Defensive Player of the Year, the winner of the Dick Butkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Chuck Bednarik Award in 2000.