Miami baseball loses to Mississippi, elimination game next versus Arizona

(Photo by David Berding/Getty Images)
(Photo by David Berding/Getty Images) /

The Miami baseball team lost 2-1 to Mississippi in the winner’s bracket of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday. Arizona and Miami and will play in an elimination game on Sunday night that will start at 7:50 PM. Arizona defeated Canisius 7-5 in the first game on Sunday in the first elimination game of the Coral Gables regional.

Carson Palmquist of Miami and Hunter Elliott of Mississippi were locked into a pitcher’s duel early. Palmquist pitched 5.1 innings allowing two hits, no runs, four walks and 10 strikeouts. Elliott pitched five innings, allowing three hits, one earned run with five walks and eight strikeouts.

Miami took a 1-0 lead in the top of the sixth inning when a Jacob Burke sacrifice fly scored Yohandy Morales. Mississippi took the lead in the bottom of the seventh when a Tim Elko double scored Jacob Gonzalez and Justin Bench. Bench, Gonzalez and Elko combined to have all five Mississippi hits.

Alex McFarlane pitched the final 2.2 innings for Texas, allowing three hits and two runs, both earned on three hits and two walks with four strikeouts. Miami had only five hits with no one in the lineup getting more than one. Miami missed an opportunity to take control of the game in the top of the first inning.

The Miami baseball team had first and second with no outs and the bases loaded with one out but did not score. Miami finished the game with seven men left on base. Mississippi left nine men on base. Miami stuck out 14 times. Arizona struck out 20 times against Mississippi in the second game of the regional on Saturday night.

Next. Miami NCAA tournament results and schedule updates. dark

Arizona enters the Sunday night elimination game with a 38-24 record. The Wildcats finished 16-14 and in fifth place in the Pac 12 this season. All-American catcher Daniel Susac leads Arizona in batting average, RBIs and slugging percentage. Susac helped lead Arizona to the College World Series in 2021.