Miami Hurricanes QB Tyler Van Dyke on Davey O’Brien Award watch list

Oct 30, 2021; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA; Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports
Oct 30, 2021; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA; Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports /

Miami Hurricanes quarterback Tyler Van Dyke has been named to the Davey O’Brien Award watch list. The O’Brien Award has honored the best QB in college football since 1981. O’Brien won the 1938 Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award at TCU and was the fourth pick in the 1939 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles.

Van Dyke was named to the Maxwell Award watch list on Monday. Vinny Testaverde in 1986 and Gino Torretta in 1992 are the only Miami players to win the O’Brien Award. Testaverde and Torretta also won the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award following those seasons. Van Dyke is a longshot for 20022 national awards.

Alabama QBs have won the O’Brien Award the last two seasons. Mac Jones won in 2020 before being a first-round pick by the New England Patriots in 2021. Young won multiple awards in 2021 including the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell and O’Brien Awards. Young is the favorite for those awards entering 2022.

Van Dyke threw for 2,931 yards, 25 touchdowns and six interceptions in just nine starts. If Van Dyke can duplicate his per game averages from 2021, he will have a chance to challenge for national awards in 2021. If Miami can improve from a 7-5 record in 2021, Van Dyke will also increase his chances for a national award.

Van Dyke was 14th averaging 293.1 yards per game last season. That number includes limited playing time against Alabama without throwing a pass. In his nine starts, Van Dyke threw for an average of 325.67 YPG. That would have put Van Dyke seventh, slightly ahead of Young’s 324.8 YPG.

Van Dyke tied for 10th averaging nine yards per attempt. The Miami Hurricanes pushed the ball downfield under former offensive coordinator Rhett Lashlee. Miami is expected to be more balanced offensively in 2022 and take more of what the defense gives them. Van Dyke should be more efficient under new OC Josh Gattis.

Van Dyke hopes to build on winning the ACC Rookie of the Year and Offensive ROY in 2021. With a full season starting, Van Dyke should significantly increase the numbers he had in 2021. Van Dyke has a chance to challenge Miami records for passing yards and touchdown passes in a single season.

dark. Next. Miami QB Tyler Van Dyke named Maxwell Award finalist

Bernie Kosar set the single-season Miami passing yardage record with 3,642 yards in 1984. Steve Walsh set the Miami TD pass record for a single season with 29 in 1988. If Van Dyke has the same averages in 2022 he had last season those numbers should be shattered. It can be a special season for Miami with Van Dyke at QB.