Miami football final 2023 mock draft for Will Mallory and Tyrique Stevenson

Nov 12, 2022; Atlanta, Georgia, USA; Mandatory Credit: Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports
Nov 12, 2022; Atlanta, Georgia, USA; Mandatory Credit: Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports /
1 of 3

The NFL Draft will commence on Thursday. Miami football alums Will Mallory and Tyrique Stevenson are the only Hurricanes projected to be selected. Defensive tackle Jon Ford was the only Miami selection in the 2022 NFL Draft by the Green Bay Packers in the seventh round.

Three combined selections in consecutive NFL Drafts would be the lowest for the Miami football program since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. Miami ranks tied for 12th all-time with Tennessee with the most players ever drafted at 355. The Miami football program has had a player selected in 48 consecutive drafts.

The Hurricanes rank fifth all-time with 67 first-round draft picks. Defensive linemen Jaelan Phillips 18th by the Dolphins and Gregory Rousseau 30th by the Buffalo Bills were the last first-round picks from the Miami football program in 2021. Miami has had only six first-round picks since 2009.

Miami has not had a defensive back selected since cornerback Jaquan Johnson was selected 181st overall in the sixth round by the Buffalo Bills in the 2019 NFL Draft. Sheldrick Redwine went in the fourth round with the 119th pick overall by the Cleveland Browns in 2019. Stevenson is projected higher than Redwine.

Mallory is projected to be the first tight end selected from Miami since Brevin Jordan was drafted in the fifth round,147th overall by the Houston Texans in 2021. Mallory finished his Miami football career fourth in program history with 115 receptions and tied for second with 1,154 receiving yards.

In two seasons with Miami, Stevenson finished with 68 tackles, four tackles for loss, 0.5 sacks, three interceptions and 11 pass breakups. Stevenson led Miami with 11 pass breakups in 2022. If Stevenson is drafted in the third round as projected he would be the Hurrricanes highest DB selected since Artie Burns in 2016.